Agate Hunting Tips

I allotted myself 45 minutes before 8am for agate hunting.

Agate Bed
Agate Bed

I caught my limit!

Some rocks are fully exposed
Some rocks are fully exposed

I don’t know what kind this is.  It’s not an agate but it will polish up really nicely.  The sand has done all but polish it.

Metal Bar in Sand
Metal Bar in Sand

Metal rusts in the salt water; of course.  But the interesting thing is that the sand cakes onto it and rocks attach to it.  They easily pop off when you tap them.

You can see sunlight shining through the agates
You can see sunlight shining through the agates

Some say you should walk with the sun at a certain angle so the light shines through the agate.  But that’s just one technique.  I like looking for them when they are wet because that’s what they’ll look like when they are polished.  See the pretty orange rock in the middle (above)?  That’s a nice little carnelian agate.  Here’s a bigger one.

Carnelian Agate
Carnelian Agate

Some, like that one, I think “Oh, I won’t pick that one up because it won’t polish well.”  Then I decide to pick it up because it will look good in my flower bed. 🙂

I saw the smallest sliver of red and white and uncovered it before I took a pic.  It turned out to be a really nice jasper and quartzite.

Well, my time was up so I watched the ground as I headed back to work.

Wow!
Wow!

When I least expected it!  That’s when we find all our treasure’s, isn’t it?

Is that a blue agate?  Looks like it to me!

Notes from my Workamping Journal:

It’s fairly easy to find a water leak in a desert.  You just look for a green spot amongst all the brown.

But how do you find a water leak in a rain forest?

One thought on “Agate Hunting Tips”

  1. such a great lesson on agate search. your part of the beach is so populated with great ones! A friend in Yachats has bowls of them in the general size of large apples.

Leave a comment