Wet Sneakers Walk

A sneaker-wave finally got me!  It must have read my post about them and needed revenge.  🙂  Oh well!  That’s not going to cut my exploration short today!

Sneaker-Wave Got Me
Sneaker-Wave Got Me

I saw a sea star; first one on this beach in months.  So I wanted a picture of it.  I had my back to the ocean with my eye on the view-finder.  I heard it coming but didn’t think it was coming that close.  I checked out of the corner of my right eye when it hit me from my left!  Then I couldn’t find my sea star!  I waited for the wave to clear and tracked it down.

Was it worth getting wet for?
Was it worth getting wet for?

Our tide was -2.3 this morning.  Usually the sand tide pools don’t have much interesting to see in them.

Sand Tide Pools with Orange Sea Star
Sand Tide Pools with Orange Sea Star

But I didn’t see any rocks out and it was kinda rainy so I decided to stick fairly close to the campground and walk straight out to the water.

Orange Sea Star
Orange Sea Star

From a distance, you can’t tell which pools will have something fun to see.

Sponge camo'd with crab parts
Sponge camo’d with crab parts

I was surprised how many had sea stars and other things.  I think that is a sponge with crab parts on it.  None of the others had crab parts on them.  I wonder if they can do that on purpose, like the anemones?

Crab the size of my thumb
Crab the size of my thumb

I’m not sure what kind of crab this is.  It’s not on my handy-dandy picture guide that our Cape Perpetua Campground Host put together.  But it looks, to me (a novice), like it could be a baby Dungeness crab.

Sunflower Star
Sunflower Star with a Broken Leg

A seagull landed not too far from me and was chewing on something.  So I shooed him away and saw he was eating on a sunflower star!  This is the first one I’ve seen “in the wild”!  The white thing with tentacle-like feet is the broken leg floating upside down across his body.  I watched him crawl across to the other side of the pool.  I wasn’t sure if he was going to crawl out.  He didn’t.  What was interesting to me was that the tips of his legs felt the edge of the water as he got close to it.  The tips curled up as if the water’s surface was solid.

Crow or Seagull dug him out
Crow or Seagull dug him out

I saw where another bird had dug out a small, live, sand dollar.  I say “live” because he wasn’t all bleached out and I could see the fine, hair-like, feet on the bottom.

Sand Quarter
Sand Quarter

But he didn’t crawl away when I put him down.

All God’s creations are amazing!

Our family has heavy hearts today because my sister-in-law lost her brother to a car accident.  He was in his early twenties.  He hadn’t really even started his life.  It is so hard to comprehend when someone is so full of life one day and gone the next.  I am so grateful to know that this life has purpose and that this is not the end.  May all of Andrew’s family feel the Savior’s love as he begins his new journey on the other side.  Although, all who knew him will miss him deeply, I know he is in good hands.

Leave a Reply

