Great Blue Heron on the Alsea River

The Great Blue Heron have been really skiddish; flying away at my slightest move or sound when I try to sneak up on one.  I watched and photo’d this one for a almost an hour from our deck.

great blue heron
Great Blue Heron are so graceful

 Then I figured if he left, I’d already gotten my photos so I quit trying to be so quiet.   He didn’t care when we were talking and even walking around the yard.  I mean, he still kept his distance; maybe 50 yards away.  But that is rare in my experience here.  Maybe we’ve made a friend!

great blue heron
He looks fluffy after a little preening

I was able to even catch him on video as he caught a fish.  Watch it on YouTube here:

[youtube https://youtu.be/haavQ8fs9JU]

Leave a Reply

