First time I’ve seen this critter on the Alsea River

Anyone know what it is?

mink fishing in alsea river
Mink (?) looking for fish

It is about the size of a baby otter.  But the fur is lighter color.  The tail is shorter but furry and gradually turns to black.

mink swimming
He runs along the bank and even swam out to the middle of the river and dove

His nose is really pointy and I can hardly see his ears.  I thought mink were black but info I read says they can be brown.

pointy nose critter
Look at that pointy nose

I didn’t know they would dive for food either.

mink looking under water
Takin’ a peek under water

Below is a video of him:

2 thoughts on “First time I’ve seen this critter on the Alsea River”

Leave a Reply

