Yesterday’s Directive is Today’s Sign

I need reminders.  If I just need to remember for a few minutes I’ll cross my fingers until I can get to it.  If it will be longer and, especially if I’ve forgotten it several times, I’ll write it down.

label or directive
       Sometimes we just need a sign

After I cleaned the oven I realized that I don’t need to remove my note!

But it’s Christmas so I have to go deeper…

If I haven’t mentioned it here before, I hate cleaning tasks because I can never get the object to look like it was when it was new.  The Magic Eraser gets as close as anything I’ve ever tried but there are still flaws that cannot be removed with caustic cleaners and a good scrubbing.

Jesus Christ is better than a Magic Eraser!  Of course it takes faith in Him (oven cleaner) and repentance (application) for Him to make us clean again.  By accepting His gift we can develop Christ-like traits like humility (acknowledgement our own limitations), a change of heart (“sin no more”) and forgiveness of others as well as ourselves.  Some flaws may be deep.  But when we repent of our sins He forgives us and will “remember them no more”, D&C 58:42; even if it takes many times to get it right (“seventy times seven”, Matt 18:21-22)  When we do our best, He not only makes up the difference but restores us so that we, to Him, are just like we were when brand new.  That humbles me and I am so grateful to our Eternal Father for giving us the gift of His Son, Jesus Christ.

“The mercy and grace of Jesus Christ are not limited to those who commit sins either of commission or omission, but they encompass the promise of everlasting peace to all who will accept and follow Him and His teachings. His mercy is the mighty healer, even to the wounded innocent.”  Boyd K Packer, “The Reason for Our Hope

Sometimes we may want to put a sign on someone to indicate they need cleaning.  But we don’t know their heart.  God may be reading the sign a little differently.

Leave a Reply

