Snowbeaver

I saw the road less travelled

snow-covered country road
The road less travelled

and kept going.

snow-covered country road
The road even Less travelled

I met a female Varied Thrush along the way.  I couldn’t tell if she was frantic or happy.  (Men, you know the look.)

Varied Thrush
Varied Thrush

A juvenile Northern Pintail has been hanging out with the Mallards and Scaups this week.  They don’t mind the snow.

Northern Pintail with Mallards
Northern Pintail with Mallards

Then Don heard a new bird call and called me outside.  There were 4 or 5 Killdeer on the banks of the Alsea River.

Killdeer
Killdeer

I didn’t want to make another snowman.  So I tried a snowbeaver swimming across the yard.

snow sculpture
Snowbeaver

Here’s his face.  Looks like a seal from head-on.

snow sculpture
Snowbeaver

Maybe I’ll smear some dirt all over him tomorrow to make him stand out.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

