Living Layers

The weekly photo challenge is “Layers”.

I had taken these photos when we were up Fall Creek watching the salmon spawning.  But I hadn’t used them yet.  So this week’s photo challenge is perfect.

Tree Moss Fern
Tree>Moss>Fern

I just love how Oregon grows all these layers of different kinds of plants on top of plants.

Moss grows on the trunk of the tree and ferns grow out of the moss.

layers of growth
Multiple types of moss

I can even see 2 different kinds of moss on this tree (note the different colored patch on the left side of the tree).

Even the moss has layers of colors.  The base is grey and the tips are green.

false cedar
False Cedar?

The way this tree branch was hanging caught my attention; evenly spaced tender branches drape from one end to the other.  The colors are layered on each branch adding to the dimension.

I’ve always thought this was a cedar but I looked it up here and found out that a “true” cedar actually has pine-needle-like needles instead of these overlapping scaley things.  When it didn’t look like any of the true cedar photos I looked at the White Cedar and read about the false cedars.  Then my friend, John (retired Forester), told me it is a Western Red Cedar (Thuja plicata).

2 thoughts on “Living Layers”

Leave a Reply

