Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon

When I saw the weekly photo challenge was “horizon” I wasn’t sure I’d be able to find one from where we are living.  I looked up the word because I think of horizon as something very far off in the distance and flat.  The definition, according to Merriam-Webster, is “the line where the earth or sea seems to meet the sky”.

Alsea River Fog
32 degrees on the Alsea River

So, sitting in this narrow valley on the Alsea River makes the horizon a little higher than I’m used to thinking.

I like the idea of heightened horizons though!

Coastal Fog on the Alsea River
Lowered Horizon

Then the fog rolls in and lowers my horizon – but it’s only temporary.

Alsea River Horizon
Heightened Horizon

This is our normal heightened horizon on the Alsea River.

Pileated Woodpecker
Pileated Woodpecker

As President Monson said, “It is better to look up!”  After the fog raised, as I was looking up at the horizon, I saw this pretty Pileated Woodpecker in our apple tree.  They are so large and their flight seems so clumsy.  But this is the first time one has stood still long enough for me to get a good photo.

Pileated Woodpecker Flying
Action shot of Pileated Woodpecker

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon”

Leave a Reply

