The Opportunistic World

This is the first time I’ve seen a cormorant this far up the Alsea River.  I know he’s here for the food but I wonder if there is a certain type of fish he’s followed up the river?  Chinook are too big even for a cormorant.  Double-crested cormorants are the most plentiful here so that’s probably what he is.

Cormorant
Cormorant

Although I was sad to see this pretty little Kingfisher was dying, I was excited to see one up close.

Belted Kingfisher
Dying Kingfisher

He didn’t suffer very long after I saw him.  I don’t know how long he’d been hurt though.  I didn’t do an autopsy to find out what caused his demise.

Belted Kingfisher
Belted Kingfisher

What a beautiful bird!

brush bunny
Frisky Bunnies

Suspicious and Guilty were chasing each other around this morning.  Maybe we’ll have rabbit for Thanksgiving this year?!   hahaha – just KIDDING!

I’m going to dye them pastel colors and send them to the grandkids for Christmas presents. 🙂

One thought on “The Opportunistic World”

Leave a Reply

