Little Mother Otter

A big disturbance in the water made me watch closely for what would show on the surface of the Alsea River today.

Little Mother Otter

Otter Mom with one kit
Otter Mom with (at least) one kit

They were so active in the water, and keeping together for the most part, that it was hard to tell how many there were.

River Otter Huddle
Otter Huddle

Fortunately, I was able to see them on the river bank.  Now I just have to hope they spread out so I can count them.

river otters on river bank
Who’s got the fish? I mean ball?

SIX!   I count 5 kits and one adult (the mom).

river otters on alsea river
He’s got it! Dog Pile!

What a fun way to start the day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

