Butt-Butt-Butt what about the berries?

Thimble Berries
Thimbleberries

I’ve only enjoyed a few salmonberries and now the thimbleberries are coming on.  I don’t know if these berries are any good for jams or jellies but their seeds are a lot smaller than salmon or black berries.  They are almost like a strawberry seed.  The berry is not slick like the other berries.  It’s more like the skin of a peach.  They are really tasty though.  The thimbleberries are growing lower on my road so maybe I’ll stand a chance…unless elk eat them

Roosevelt Elk Crossing
Moo?

Ranchers lose a lot to elk.  He’s constantly repairing his fence.

I looked back at my photos from last year to see when I caught an elk calf and it wasn’t until mid-July.   😦

Bull Roosevelt Elk
Bull Roosevelt Elk

I’ll call him Kink – cuz he has a kink in one of his antlers.  He’s pretty handsome, eh?

Do trophy hunters look for perfect symmetry or do they like a little uniqueness?  I think uniqueness is more attractive.

BUT – they always look like they’re showing off their butts. hahaha

Elk on Manure Pile
Huh?

Now, what could be tasty in a pile of cow manure?

Oh!  Do you see what I see?

A-3 Tagged Roosevelt Elk
Hi Alllie!

Yup!  There’s A-3!  She’s the only tagged elk I see here in the Alsea River/Tidewater herd.

I look for her every time I see the elk.

2 thoughts on “Butt-Butt-Butt what about the berries?”

  1. Loving your captures:) When I was in Yellowstone last year the elk were just coming into rutting season and the bison were coming out of rutting season – whole lot of hormones running loose in the wild – ha! Have a Great Day

    1. We’ve done that before – that’s an exciting time in Yellowstone! We were parked up on a ridge and standing outside our truck listening to their calls at dusk. As it got darker we could imagine them barreling down the hill, running us over, to get to the challenging bull. We decided to get back in the truck. …the wild got a little too eerie – hahaha
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

