Imaginary Goslings

Don was starting to accuse me of seeing imaginary baby geese at Eckman Lake (on Alsea Bay).

Collared Canada Goose
Collared Canada Goose

So I thought it was really sweet of them to hang around so we could photo them today!

And LOOK at the collar on the one out in front!  I’ll have to see if I can find out about that.

canada geese chicks
I AM the boss of you ’cause I’m your step-grandmother!

I’ve seen this domestic goose amongst the Canada Geese before.  It is too big and doesn’t have the right plumage to be a White-fronted Goose.

Update from US Fish & Wildlife:

I got the scoop on the collared goose.  Although the top of the collar is missing, it is believed to be 244R.  They will still try to confirm the ‘R’ if it is not entirely torn off.

She is a long-time resident of Waldport.  She is 19 years old now and was collared as a gosling at Eckman Lake in 1994.  She was also photographed on the Chinook Winds Golf Course in 2011.  Other reported sightings are right in the Eckman Lake area in 1995, 1996, 2004 and 2007.  So she’s kind of a home-body.

Thanks to my friend Shawn Stephensen, Refuge Wildlife Biologist\US F&W, for researching her for me!  (and for identifying the domestic goose)

One thought on “Imaginary Goslings”

Leave a Reply

