Wild Bearries

The salmonberries are the first to come on – and they’re here!  I like them a little bit riper though.

Salmonberries
Mouthwatering Salmonberries

I see a new white wildflower and zoom in.  I thought the brown things were the seed tops of grass.  But they are actually flowers too.

It’s amazing what you can see if you take the time to look closely (metaphor alert!  I don’t have to spell it out for you, do I?).

2 Wildflowers - white and brown
2 Wildflowers – white and brown

I don’t know what kind of ferns these are but they grow like grass.

ferns
We have tall, spindley, ferns

Then we have the ones that grow in clumps.

ferns
We have clumpy ferns that unfurl

I like the curly ends and the way they unfurl in the spring.

Elk Track?
Elk Track?

So I’m wandering around looking for more wildflowers…

Who did this?!
Who did this?!

…and see this!  Where are my scat experts?  Would you say bear?  It is definitely NOT elk.

Well, actually, after a little research I found out that if elk have a rich diet they can poop a pie too.  Since I didn’t see any bear tracks, I’m thinking this has to be an elk pie.

2 thoughts on “Wild Bearries”

Leave a Reply

