This is for the birds!

The duck-alert yesterday morning had me looking for baby birds all day long.  I warned Don that we’d have to check the Newport South Jetty before we left.  But we only saw a few loons and cormorants; no babies.

Geese in Tall Grass
Peek-a-boo

On our way to Newport I swear I saw, not a puddy-tat, but some baby geese.  They were standing next to their parents on the sand at low tide at Eckman Lake (on the bay side).  We didn’t have time to stop at that time so we stopped on our way back up the Alsea River.  There were only a few geese and they were all in the tall grass.  Chicks could hide in here very easily.

Great Blue Heron and Mallard Drake
Great Blue Heron and Mallard Drake

I’d love to see a baby heron.  Don’t they nest way up high though?  I wish I knew where they nested around Waldport.

Rufous Hummingbird
Rufous Hummingbird

I bet the hummers have a nest close by.  They were chasing each other like crazy yesterday.  I was afraid I’d get poked as they zoomed their way through our observation deck.

At one point, I’m sure, they went in one ear and out the other!

Rufous Hummingbird
Now he’s just showing off

It’s pretty hard to keep track of who’s who but I know their colors change depending on the your perspective of their chin.  This may be the same one as in the previous photo.

Osprey Fishing
Osprey Fishing

Then this osprey landed in the tree in front of me!  Panic ensued as the red low-battery warning light on my camera began to flash.  He flew to another tree before he saw something worth diving for; giving me a chance to grab a fresh battery (which didn’t turn out to be fresh – argh!).  But I did get a couple shots.

Osprey Flying with Fish
Flying with his catch

Eventually, I will catch him in the act.  He makes such a big splash when he hits that I am just watching in amazement and can’t seem to focus (literally) on taking a photo.

Osprey eating fish
Dinnertime

And I’ll figure out how to focus on him when he’s hiding behind branches as he picks apart his fish.

One thought on “This is for the birds!”

Leave a Reply

