Waldport to Newport Oregon Coast

Took a trip to Newport for some Walmart shopping yesterday.  What a beautiful day it was!

Seal Pups - Alsea Bay
No new pups yet

I had to check in on the harbor seals in the Alsea Bay.  I don’t see any new pups yet.

Alsea Bay Harbor Seal Colony
Alsea Bay Harbor Seal Colony

I think they usually give birth closer to the water but I wondered why this adult separated from the rest of the colony?  I’ll have to check on her again.

Diving Cormorant from Alsea Bay Bridge
Diving Cormorant from Alsea Bay Bridge

The Alsea Bay is so clear and pretty!  Looks like the fishermen have some competition.

Alsea Bay Bridge from north wayside
Alsea Bay Bridge from north wayside

Don likes to slow down on the bridge and push me out so I can take pix.  But I convinced him I’d walk from the north wayside this time.

Beaver Creek Boat Launch
Hwy 101 bridge at Ona Beach from Beaver Creek boat launch

Beaver Creek is popular, with our Oregon Coast campers, for canoeing and kayaking.

Beaver Creek Boat Launch
Access to the Beaver Creek State Natural Area

Check out this beautiful area: http://www.oregonstateparks.org/index.cfm?do=parkPage.dsp_parkPage&parkId=191

Leave a Reply

