Bird Watching on Lint Slough – Waldport, Oregon

There are always some kind of birds on Lint Slough; on Hwy 34 as you enter Waldport from the west.

Mallards Preening
Mallards Preening

The mallards are preening and might be looking for a nesting site for the spring?

Mallards and Great Blue Heron
Mallards (foreground) and Great Blue Heron (background)

Apparently there was a Great Blue Heron rally on this day.   I didn’t get the memo.   I guess because I don’t get the Great Blue Heron newsletter?

Great Blue Heron Rally - Waldport, Oregon
Great Blue Heron Rally

We counted about 18 heron!  My ODFW-buddy says they nest in trees though.  So maybe they are just preening and resting here after lunch?

Great Blue Heron - Waldport, Oregon
Great Blue Heron

Maybe Lint Slough is Waldport’s all-you-can-eat buffet for birds?

2 thoughts on “Bird Watching on Lint Slough – Waldport, Oregon”

  1. There is a Bufflehead family on the pond here at Arizona Beach.
    I wish I could keep my camera handy like you seem to!
    I arrived at Arizona Beach Friday, and had a Allen’s hummingbird at the feeder Sunday.
    I enjoy your pictures of the many beaches. So many I have not explored.
    Anita

    1. Thanks Anita!
      Carrying my camera is a habit that I’ve had to develop- but I’ve pretty much got it down now. I can’t think of a time when I wished I didn’t have my camera with me. 🙂
      I wish you’d had your camera with you. I’ve never seen an Allen’s hummingbird!
      jo

Leave a Reply

