The Beavers Have Landed!

I saw one of the beavers dragging a big limb through the water this morning.  I grabbed my camera but he’d disappeared by the time I made it back to the window.  So I watched and either he or another appeared near our bank.  I’ve seen 3 at one time on other days.

To my surprise he started coming up into the yard!  I opened the window so I wouldn’t have the glass to interfere with my auto-focusing “skills” – hahaha – Although the low light interfered plenty.

Beaver Coming Up the Alsea River Bank
Coming Up the Alsea River Bank

When he got near the house, I think he must have smelled me. I understand they can’t see very well but they have a very keen sense of smell.

Beaver Climbing Alsea River Bank
Coming For Another Snack – Alsea River

He raised up on his hind legs, sniffing the air, then turned and ran (waddled) back down the bank. He went into the water and smacked the surface with his tail as he dove under!  Yup, he sniffed danger and he warned his buddies.

Beaver Running Away
Bye-Bye Beaver

But there’s no radio transmitter on his tail so he’s not one of the nuisance beavers that were relocated to the Alsea River by OSU.  That was a couple years ago, so maybe this is a descendant?

Oh yeah, we saw the head of the elk herd today too.

Bull Elk - Alsea River
Bull Elk – Nice Rack Buddy!

Later, when we drove by again, the two bulls were sparring.

I got a photo but it was too fuzzy to post.  Man, you gotta be quick with wildlife!

Leave a Reply

