I’m Enamored

I’m sure I will feel differently when/if the beavers start munching on my living trees.

Beaver or Water Pig?
Looks like a furry pig

But, for now, they captivate me.

Beaver - Alsea River
I can hear the munching from up here

 These photos were taken near Blackberry Campground on the Alsea River in Tidewater, OR.

The beavers seem to like the apple tree limbs out of our burn pile.  So we re-wrapped the base of the apple trees with chicken wire.

We don’t see a typical den, where there is a pile of sticks, or a dam.   But I’ve heard that they’ll burrow into the river bank?

I found this study that was done by an OSU student last year: http://oregonstate.edu/terra/2012/02/leave-it-to-the-beavers/

Now I can look for a beavers with a radio transmitter on their tail!

I also learned that they don’t eat fish and that their dams create important habitat for small species and young coho salmon.

Reference: http://www.oregonwild.org/fish_wildlife/wildlife-pages/beaver

Leave a Reply

