Backyard Birds of East Texas

Sorry about the lack of posts lately (for those who care).

One of my favorite things to do is spend time with my parents.  I admit that I’d rather do that than post on my blog since we only get to visit them, maybe, once a year.

But I’d like to share some of the beautiful backyard birds we’ve seen daily in their East Texas yard.

Finch
Finch

These little finches are everywhere.  I thought I kept seeing yellow on them, as they flitted by, but didn’t realize how much until I grabbed a shot.

Red-Bellied Woodpecker
Red-Bellied Woodpecker

I think there are several kinds of woodpeckers around here.  I’ll keep trying to capture the others.

Mockingbird
Mockingbird

The mockingbirds are probably 2nd to the finches as far as numbers go.

Cedar Waxwing
Cedar Waxwing

The Cedar Waxwings are around more than I see.  I think they have striking colors.

Male Bluebird
Male Bluebird

The bluebirds are courting and scouting for the right nest box.  The males chase the females, and fluff up their feathers at her, to show off their colors.

Female Bluebird
Female Bluebird Looking for the Right House

It was icy when first got here but the weather has warmed up.  On the west coast I get to enjoy beautiful sunsets over the ocean.  Here, in East Texas, I am enjoying beautiful sunrises over Houston County Lake.

Sunrise Fish Ring
Sunrise Fish Ring

I keep telling my fishermen that they’d see more action if they got up earlier.

Lunker!
Lunker!

But they’ve managed to catch a few without my sage advice.

4 thoughts on “Backyard Birds of East Texas”

Leave a Reply

