Leading up to Christmas – Day 24 (evening)

<– Day 23                      Day 24 (sundown) –>

3 Nephi 1:13 – 14

“Lift up your head and be of good cheer; for behold, the time is at hand, and on this night shall the sign be given, and on the morrow come I into the world, to show unto the world that I will fulfil all that which I have caused to be spoken by the mouth of my holy prophets.

Behold, I come unto my own, to fulfill all things which I have made known unto the children of men from the foundation of the world, and to do the will, both of the Father and of the Son—of the Father because of me, and of the Son because of my flesh. And behold, the time is at hand, and this night shall the sign be given.”

Finally, after “crying mightily” all day long for the lives of his people, what sweet words of comfort!  The Lord didn’t have to answer that prayer.  The time was imminent.  He answered that prayer as a tender mercy to Nephi who had been so dedicated.  It looks like He also answered Nephi’s prayer to give some instruction.  Nephi and the other believers, at this point, were probably as humble as you can get.  Humility is not a weakness.  If we have humility it just means that we accept that we don’t know everything there is to know and that God does.  If we are humble, we are teachable.

In verse 14 He tells us why He is coming and why He is called the “Father” and the “Son”.  I think it’s pretty revealing.  We pray to God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Jesus Christ.  They are two separate beings.  It doesn’t matter which one answers our prayers because They are one in purpose.  It is God’s plan and Jesus Christ is carrying it out.  Both, Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ, are essential to the plan.  We can learn several things about Their nature if we study, think about (ponder) and pray about these scriptures.  I hesitate to venture any further because when I can’t explain things well it usually means I need to understand it better myself.  And I don’t want to present the half-baked ideas as my testimony.  I do know that I would be SO relieved and comforted by this answer to my prayer if I had been there.  Now my anticipation for the coming of the Christ would not be laced with fear of what my neighbors might do to me.

Leave a Reply

