Spindrifts Make Rainbows

It’s funny how we can be just 5 miles inland and not have a hint of the blue skies that were lighting up the coast today!

Rainbow in Spindrift
Rainbow in Spindrift

We had an early morning meeting in Cape Perpetua Campground.  It is closed but we can get some work done in the off-season.

Spouting Horn
Spouting Horn at Cook’s Chasm, Cape Perpetua Scenic Area

I’ve been ocean-deprived lately and I warned my hubby before we left.  “You know it will be a perfect time for photos of the high tide and my camera is fully charged and I have an empty micro-drive and…”  “I know.” He says. 🙂

So I commandeered the driver’s seat and headed to Cook’s Chasm after the work was done.

The Spouting Horn was really shooting high.  And look at all that foam!  The waves were making it all the way up to the little waterfall on the other side of the Hwy 101 bridge.

Thor's Well
Thor’s Well

Thor’s Well was gorgeous today also.  We were early enough that it was still in the shadow of the mountains.

Wave Mist Rainbow
Wave Mist Rainbow

I guess I can’t really call this a spindrift but this mist left a better rainbow.

Yachats Today
Yachats Today

Well, it’s time to head back but I’m draggin’ my feet.  The tide was a little high for this spout on Yachats Beach Rd.  Yachats always looks so pretty across the bay.

December High Tide on Tillicum Beach
December High Tide on Tillicum Beach

This is NOT the time to go for a walk on Tillicum Beach.  Enjoy it from the campground until the tide goes back out a little ways.

Alsea Bay - December High Tide
Alsea Bay – December High Tide

The water was splashing over the seawall today so we stopped in Waldport too.  There was a seal watching me take the photos but I didn’t catch him on camera.

Alsea Bay Bridge - December High Tide
Alsea Bay Bridge – December High Tide

If you’ve only visited Waldport, Oregon, in the summer, you’ve probably never seen this much water in the Alsea Bay.

Leave a Reply

