Leading up to Christmas – Day 8

<– Day 7                                         Day 9 –>

Helaman 14:13

“And if ye believe on his name ye will repent of all your sins, that thereby ye may have a remission of them through his merits.”

This is still the prophet, Samuel, telling the people of what is to come.  As with any prophet, he is trying to help the people prepare themselves to understand who Jesus Christ is and why He is important to them (us).  If we have the right perspective (based on truth) hard things become easy and “weak things become strong”.

Lest I start acting like I’m perfect, this verse reminds me how imperfect and weak I am.  Although I do not have any “big” sins to repent of, I have a lot of shortcomings and often make mistakes.  So, if I truly believed Christ, I would easily repent of and give up my “favorite” sins (like pushing the speed limit, eating unhealthy foods).  I do know that He has already paid the price for my sins and I will always be indebted to Him for that.  I also know that I am human and I learn “line upon line and precept on precept” as Brigham Young said.  I know that learning is a process and I am grateful for 55 years of drug-free learning that I have been able to enjoy. 🙂   I hope to be able to enjoy as many more years as I need to gain a more perfect knowledge of my Savior Jesus Christ and show Him my gratitude by trying to become more like Him.  Daily repentance will help me get there!

Leave a Reply

