Lazy Day on the Oregon Coast

After my first colonoscopy of my life (apparently I was overdue because I’m 55) I was hungry.  They found NOTHING!  YAY!  Hopefully I won’t have to do that again for another 10 years?

Anyway, so we did our usual, drive-thru the Newport Burger King and take it to the south jetty of Yaquina Bay.

Yaquina Seal
Yaquina Seal

I could see, from the bridge, that it was high tide.  So I thought there wouldn’t be much to watch.  There were no boats, because of the stormy conditions, and the ocean commercial Dungeness crab season has been delayed at least until December 15, 2012.  The bays closed to commercial crabbers on December 1st too.  Recreational crabbing is still open.

We did see a few harbor seals feeding.  And this Harlequin duck hung around for a little while too.

Harlequin
Harlequin
Leave a Reply

