Living on the Pacific Ocean

We had a torrential rainstorm last night.  At least, that’s what they told me.  I sleep pretty soundly.  I know we had some pretty good showers all morning.  But I managed to squeeze in a walk on the beach without getting too wet.  I was covered in rubber from my head to my toes though.  This is the size of an auto headlight.  Maybe it’s a bus turn signal?

Bus Turn Signal?
Bus Turn Signal?

The phone started ringing at 8am this morning!  What do they think this is, the office?  Oh, I guess it is.  I tell people we live at work.  It’s kinda like working at home, only different.

Anyway, one of the phone calls was to open a gate for the people helping us cut down trees in Cape Perpetua Campground.  So I drove down to let them in and couldn’t pass up the beauty overlooking Yachats as I came back.

Yachats, Oregon
Yachats, Oregon

I went ahead to Waldport to check the mailbox since I was already in the truck.  The seals are spending more time at the mouth of the bay lately.  There are cormorants mixed in with them.  I thought that was a little unusual.

Alsea Bay, Waldport, Oregon
Alsea Bay, Waldport, Oregon

We’ve got a Super Moon coming this weekend!  It will be 14% bigger and 30% brighter than the other full moons of 2012.  That is because it will reach its closest point to Earth just 1 minute before it becomes full.  The biggest effects will be “slightly higher tides and many beautiful pictures” according to CBSNews: http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-205_162-57428066/supermoon-2012-biggest-full-moon-of-the-year/

Super Moon over Tillicum
Super Moon over Tillicum

I think the 2 dark spots (that could be the eyes for the “man in the moon”) are the Sea of Serenity and the Sea of Tranquility.  My dad could tell me for sure.  He spent a lot of time studying the moon in his career with NASA.

Tides on Tillicum Beach:  highs are around 9 and lows are around -2

Leave a Reply

