Waiting for the Green Flash

But the green flash never appeared.

The light sky baited me out to the beach for a nice, although quick, walk this morning.

Tillicum sunrise looking north
Tillicum sunrise looking north

I said “quick” because there was a huge, dark, cloud making its way across the ocean.

Tillicum sunrise from low tide
Tillicum sunrise from low tide

So there was a little bit of color in the sky.  Then it turned a little drizzely.   We got our driving done early so we could spend the sunny afternoon working in Tillicum Campground.

Tillicum Sunset
Tillicum Sunset

It was looking like it would be a great sunset.  So I warned Don that I’d be leaving the table, in the middle of dinner, if there was color in the sky.

Clouds blocking green flash
Clouds blocking green flash

The closer the sun got to the horizon, the more I could see these “tiny” little clouds way out on the horizon.

Tillicum Sunset from Site 31
Tillicum Sunset from Site 31

We were reflecting today on why the friday before Easter is called “Good” Friday.  My first thought was that, if I’d been there I don’t think I would have considered it a good day.  However, apparently “Good” is an interpretation of the word “Holy”.  That day certainly was a holy day for Jesus Christ and all His followers; and it still is…over 2000 years later.  What a gift He has given me in that intercessory prayer in the Garden of Gethsemane.

Leave a Reply

