Workamping for American Land & Leisure

I love it when I can get 15 seconds of fame!  So, when Kelly Fenley from the Eugene newspaper The Register-Guard called, I jumped on it!

Jo 'n Don
Jo 'n Don

Occasionally, a journalist wants to do a story on ‘what local retirees are doing’.  When Kelly called American Land and Leisure, Gary referred him to us.  Gary Huntington is the Hiring Manager in the Orem, Utah based company.  Don and I are Area Managers for AL&L in the Siuslaw National Forest, Central Coast Ranger District.

Here’s the article: Retirement on the launching pad

Since I’m already talking about myself, I’ll just extend this 15 seconds to 20.

Jo with Pole Saw
Jo with Pole Saw

I’m not above laughing at myself.  I think Don wanted to document the size of the tree that I actually cut down.  Don gets up-close-and-personal with a real chainsaw.  But I’ll only use this battery-operated pole saw.  I usually just trim off branches.  When he showed me the pix, I thought I looked a little nervous. hahaha  Like, “I wouldn’t touch that with a 6 foot pole!”

Jo doin' the Pole Saw Happy Dance
Jo doin' the Pole Saw Happy Dance

If you can’t make work fun, what’s the point in getting out of bed in the morning?  Mind you I was whining, the whole time, that the battery wouldn’t last.

You’ve got to love people to workamp in campgrounds.  If you are happy to greet people, between shoveling fire pits and cleaning toilets, they will feel welcome.

Greet customers with a smile
Greet customers with a smile

Another aspect of workamping for AL&L is fee collection.  Most people are good about paying their fees “within 30 minutes of arrival” as the rule goes.  But for those who don’t seem to think it is important, Don has a unique way of explaining what the campground and day use fees are used for…and timing can emphasize the point.

FeeCollectionTechnique-TP
Need TP? Pay Your Fee 🙂

What?  You say there’s a log in the tent area?

Moving a log
Let me get that for you! 🙂

We are ready to tackle anything for you!

AL&L-Man
An AL&L Man is ALL Man!

We appreciate all the customer feedback.

Customer Feedback
AL&L gives extensive training, including how to get Customer Feedback

If the customer gives any negative feedback, it is an opportunity to fix something that is broken.  If they give positive feedback, we have a better chance of repeating our good behavior!

Redman Campground was our first workamping “gig” for American Land & Leisure.  We have been with them ever since.  We have worked for them in Utah, Idaho, Oregon and No. California.  What a great company to work for!

2 thoughts on “Workamping for American Land & Leisure”

  1. My Husband and I worked at Brannon Island S.R.A. in Rio Vista, California this Summer.We thrived on the opportunity to work and serve fellow Campers. It was a great experience.

Leave a Reply

