Tillicum Beach Geology

I should know more…Geology was my minor in college.  But that was eons ago and it’s more of a hobby now.  Seeing evidence of God’s power in the creation of the earth has always fascinated me.

hole in the layer
hole in the layer

Cliffs like those on Tillicum Beach are great for showing thousands, if not millions, of years of history…I guess…actually, I don’t know how long it took to form this sandstone.  It is relatively soft stone.

Clay Bowl
Clay Bowl

I like imagining what caused the different shapes to form between the layers.  It would also be cool if someone, more knowledgable than I, explained it to me though.

Red Scribbles
Red Scribbles

The intriguing thing to me about designs like those ‘Red Scribbles’ is that they aren’t 2 dimensional.  I’d love to see what the 3-D shape is!

Layers of sand and clay
Layers of sand and clay

I know clay is made up of different minerals than sand.  But what happened, on this spot, when and how long, to make these layers?

Softer layers more sensitive to erosion of the waves
Softer layers - more sensitive to erosion of the waves

You can see how quickly the waves break them up.  Everyday is different.

Different Colors
Different Colors

Wow!  Love that one!

On another subject…look what I found today!

Tillicum Teeter Totter
Tillicum Teeter Totter

No, I didn’t set that tree on the boulder.  I mean, I work out but I’m not THAT strong.  🙂

Leave a Reply

