Takes My Breath Away

I just don’t know if I’m going to be able to put this into words today but I’ll try.  It was one of those days that I wished I had hours to spend taking photos.  However, our workamping duties took me away from the ocean, for most of the day, to do some training.  By the way, to get the full effect, click on the photo to enlarge it.

The skies cleared and it turned cold overnight.  A sneak down to take a peak at the ocean, before the sun hit the beach, revealed a frothy sea.

Frothy Brew on Tillicum Beach
Frothy Brew on Tillicum Beach

 Another High Surf warning today but the winds died down last evening when the front finally passed over.  High tide, in a couple hours, will be 8.8.  The high surf will make this foam fly up into the campground.  Look at what yesterday’s high seas brought me!

Pacific Ocean Present
Pacific Ocean Present

The Pacific keeps dropping bigger and bigger things on our doorstep.  If the campers can maneuver the boulders to get to the beach, they can get around that root ball.  So I guess I don’t have to try to move it.  I stepped out onto a boulder to gaze for a while.  I saw a guy sitting higher up on the rocks.  We were far enough away that we knew we couldn’t hear each other over the roar of the waves.  So we didn’t try to speak.  I just hoped he knew the tide was coming in and he’d get wet if he didn’t move within the hour.  I saw a big wave coming and thought, briefly, about moving back.  I was pretty confident that I wouldn’t get wet where I was; and I didn’t.  It sure was spooky watching the water wash around the rocks under my feet though.  As soon as the water receded I stepped back onto the stairway.

Wave coming like a freight train!
Wave coming like a freight train!

I enjoyed watching this Surf Scoter diving under the waves.

Nickname - Skunk Duck
Nickname - Skunk Duck

He looks like he’s taking a bubble bath.  Cute nickname, huh?  It’s from the white stripe on his head.

Surf Scoter - about to dive under the wave
Surf Scoter - about to dive under the wave

He’s starting to lunge forward to dive.  He was all alone this morning.  I didn’t see any other wildlife but I only had a few minutes to watch.  My camera did a pretty good job at stopping that wave though, huh?

Self Portrait At Yachats Spout
Self Portrait At Yachats Spout

Since we were headed south, to Sutton and Alder Dune for some training, I dodged onto Yachats Ocean Drive to checkout the spout.  Sometimes, when the tide is high, it doesn’t spout very well.  It did today though.  So I got a shot of it, with Yachats in the background, with my shadow in the foreground. 🙂

Ocean in Full Dress
Ocean in Full Dress

This was taken from the 804 trail just north of the Yachats State Park.

Spectators Watching High Surf at Yachats
Spectators Watching High Surf at Yachats

I think the spectacle is taking the birds breath away too.

We’ve got another high wind warning (65 to 75mph gusts) for tomorrow and flood warnings through Thursday.  YeeHaw Oregon Winters!!!!

2 thoughts on “Takes My Breath Away”

  1. Wow….. your photos are terrific as well as your comments. How cool is it to be in the presents of Mother Nature with a camera. What make and model of camera?

Leave a Reply

