Red in the Morning at Tillicum Beach

There was color in the sky this morning, as I was making my rounds in Tillicum Campground.  I really didn’t think it would last long enough for me to run back to the 5th wheel to get my camera.  The best stuff happens when I don’t have my camera.  But it persisted!  A strong south wind was whipping up the waves and making beautiful patterns in the clouds.  The sun was hitting it just right, at sunrise, to turn the clouds from pink to violet.

Cloud Patterns over Tillicum
Cloud Patterns over Tillicum

Then, I noticed a funny vertical shape of color.  I thought that was weird but not worth photographing.  I looked again and thought, “Do I see rainbow colors?”  As I kept watching I did see the rainbow; albeit just the bottom part of one side.

Rainbow over Ocean at Tillicum Beach
Rainbow over Ocean at Tillicum Beach

But still a rainbow!

Which end of the rainbow is it though?

We’ve got a high surf warning for tomorrow (Jan 5, 2012).  That will be fun to watch (from the safety of the campground)!  Here’s the ominous-sounding advisory:

IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM THURSDAY TO 10 AM PST FRIDAY.

SEAS: A LARGE LONG PERIOD WESTERLY SWELL TRAIN WILL ARRIVE IN THE COASTAL WATERS LATE THURSDAY MORNING WITH SEAS BUILDING INTO THE UPPER TEENS THEN PEAKING BETWEEN 20 AND 23 FT THURSDAY EVENING.

* SURF: AS THE LEADING SWELL ARRIVES AT THE BEACH LATE THURSDAY MORNING…THE SWELL PERIOD WILL INCREASE TO 16 SECONDS. LONG PERIOD SWELL SUCH AS THIS CARRIES LARGE AMOUNT OF ENERGY AND WILL RESULT IN POWERFUL BREAKERS IN THE SURF ZONE.

* IMPACTS: AS THE SURF BUILDS THROUGH THURSDAY AND THURSDAY NIGHT…THE SURF ZONE WILL BECOME INCREASINGLY DANGEROUS… ESPECIALLY WITH THE STRONG CURRENTS ASSOCIATED WITH THE LARGE TIDAL SWING. MINOR BEACH EROSION IS ALSO POSSIBLE.

hhmmm – agate hunting anyone?   …on Friday of course

I have to add this great photo of the cloud patterns that Patty sent me.  I’d normally just call her “a Tillicum camper”.  But she’s been here, off and on, for so long that we’ve become friends. 🙂   Thanks for sharing these Patty!

Tillicum Cloud Patterns
Tillicum Cloud Patterns
Tillicum Cloud Patterns - closeup
Tillicum Cloud Patterns - closeup

3 thoughts on “Red in the Morning at Tillicum Beach”

  1. Haven’t you heard?

    Red in morning, sailors take warning.

    Red at night, sailors delight.

    P.S. Don’t go on the beach tomorrow!

    Mom

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing your photos of big crashing waves at Tillicum Beach. Hopefully they bring some wonderful agates with them. I dreamed about agates last night.
    Carolyn

Leave a Reply

