Green Flash!

Another clear day on the Oregon Coast!  It’s gonna be another great sunset.  I wonder how many sunset photos I have?  Oh well, what’s a few more?  Just a quick shot from campsite 17  on my way to the beach.

Sunset from Tillicum Campground
Sunset from Tillicum Campground

Today is the shortest day of the year.  I headed to the beach at 4:20pm.

Winter Solstice on Tillicum Beach
Winter Solstice on Tillicum Beach

We only have about 9 hours of sunlight this time of year.  Less than that if it’s raining 🙂

Winter Solstice Sunset - Tillicum Beach
Winter Solstice Sunset - Tillicum Beach

There’s a slight breeze and the temps are in the 30’s.  This December has been very dry.

Sun, sea bubbles, ripples
Sun, sea bubbles, ripples

Bubbles and shadows make pretty patterns in the water as the tide pulls back.  Not many agates are out today.  I picked up as much trash as I did rocks.

Windy Winter Solstice Sunset - Tillicum Beach
Windy Winter Solstice Sunset - Tillicum Beach

The lack of storms has brought the sand back to the beach.  The one stump that was visible, just a day or two ago, is covered up now.  The sun seems to pick up speed as it drops and I find myself walking backwards to see if I can get higher on the beach to see more of it.  I quickly snap one just in case it’s my last of the day.

Green Flash
Green Flash

And I think, “Huh, I wonder if I caught that little sliver?”  It wasn’t until I put it on the computer, and zoomed in, that I saw it was GREEN!  COOL!  It’s right on the edge of the water, under the orange sky.  Here’s a good website that explains the green flash phenomena: http://mintaka.sdsu.edu/GF/

Crabbers
Crabbers

And here’s one of those crab boats.  I would need binoculars, instead of my camera, to tell if they were setting the pots or retrieving them.

Great walk on the beach!

2 thoughts on “Green Flash!”

  1. JO your pictures are awesome, I can’t wait to get the next days adventure on the Oregon Coast. Keep up the good work and we are wishing you and DON a wonderful Christmas and a new year filled with happiness

  2. I, too, love your awesome pictures and journaling! With our having been there last June, it seems almost as if we were there with you again while you were taking the pictures. I love your posts! Only 3 more days ’til Christmas. ‘Hope you have a wonderful one!

Leave a Reply

