Watching the Heavens

Okay, so a camper told us about this “green flash” phenomenon and said we should be able to see it last night.  First time in a while that Don went with me to watch the sunset 🙂  Did you know that you can look directly at the sun through a camera lens or binoculars?  Well, we were armed.  I even took a video to watch later in case it was so fast that I missed it.  We didn’t see any green flash though, even when I slowed the video to each frame.  Maybe because of the dense marine layer?  But it was a pretty sunset to watch with my sweetie!

No Green Flash
No Green Flash

So then we heard about the lunar eclipse that would happen this morning.  Don’s a good “instigator”.  He throws out an idea in hopes it inspires action (by someone else).  So, I’m up at 6am to catch the lunar eclipse.  My first look up reveals that there are no stars visible 😦  Just in case, though, I walk out to the edge of the campground to look at the horizon.  And Look!!!

Lunar Eclipse from Tillicum Beach
Lunar Eclipse from Tillicum Beach

What?  You can’t see it?  You have NO imagination!  hahaha

How many crystal clear mornings have we had in a row?!  Guess that was the marine layer we saw last night.  Oh well, it IS warmer today!  I took off 2 layers!

Christmas Wreath
Christmas Wreath

I made this wreath using Coastal Pine, Holly and False Lilly of the Valley berries.  No plants were harmed in the making of this wreath.  All were harvested from limbs that were already on the ground.  🙂

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

