Central Oregon Coast – Waldport to Florence

Not a cloud in the sky yesterday!  Until evening when the sun started to set.  The clouds added just the right touch to the sunset; so much color!  It was incredible!  The color seemed to last forever.  I went out to watch it; a camper joined me.  I had my camera with me.  But, you know, sometimes I just need to enjoy the moment.  We went to Florence yesterday.  This is somewhere in between Yachats and Florence.
Oregon Coast - sunny
Oregon Coast - sunny

I heard, one time, that the most addictive form of stimulation is random.  Maybe that’s why I’m addicted to the ocean?  🙂   The waves crash in endlessly random patterns.  That’s why one picture is never satisfying!  Don spotted a whale so we pulled over to watch as he made his way south.  He was close enough that we didn’t need the binoculars to see it.  But not close enough to get a great picture.  (When people say they are ‘seeing’ whales, it usually means we are seeing their spout as they surface and blow water out of their lungs.  Breaching the surface, or jumping out of the water, is not too common.  But it’s still exciting to see the spout.)

Wave Spray
Wave Spray

Since it’s such a pretty day we stopped to see if the sea lions were out.  This is probably the most photographed lighthouse on the Oregon Coast (Heceta Head).  We heard the sea lions barking and growling as soon as we got out of the truck.  They are right down below us on the rocks at the bottom of the picture.

Heceta Head Overlook
Heceta Head Overlook

Aaaawww!  They’re so cute!  Look at that little one laying on his mom!  They are the same color as the rocks until they dry out.  Then you can see their brown fur.

Sea Lions on Rocks
Sea Lions on Rocks

OOOOOOOOOuuuuuuuuuuuucccccccchhhhhhhhh!

You rolled over on my flipper, you BIG TUB OF LARD!

Sea Lions - outside Sea Lion Caves
Sea Lions - outside Sea Lion Caves

Oh well, gotta get goin’.  I mean, it’s not like we get paid by the hour, but we do have work to do.  hahaha

You can always tell when you’re getting close to Florence, Oregon, when the dunes come into view.  This is just north of Florence.

Florence Dunes - North
Florence Dunes - North

This is why camping isn’t free anymore.

Cost of Camping
Cost of Camping

This was going to be my last picture but I hate to end the blog this way because it’s not how my day ended.  Now I wish I had taken at least one sunset picture.  Picking up litter is more of an aggravation than it is work for us workampers.  I just don’t understand why people aren’t more considerate and respectful of the beauty that they just enjoyed.  So, we picked up the litter, cleaned the restroom, added TP and found the beauty again!

Horse Creek Campsite
Horse Creek Campsite

Horse Creek Trailhead is about 4 miles inland from Hwy 101.  Take the first east turn south of Sea Lion Caves on Forest Road 58.  Horse Creek has facilities for your horses at each campsite.  There is no drinking water for you, but there is a trail leading to drinking water for your horse.  Don pointed out that we could actually hear the ocean from the campground.  That was a mistake!  A couple false-starts and I turn and ask Don, “Are you in a hurry to leave?”  He said, “No, go on.”  hahaha

Horse Creek Trail
Horse Creek Trail

So I headed down the trail labeled ‘Horse Water’.  At least, that’s what I think I read through the bullet holes (note to self: order a new ‘Horse Water’ sign).  I didn’t want to go on an hour-long hike.  I just wanted to see how far the creek was or maybe discover an overlook of the ocean just a short distance away.  But the trail kept going downhill and I kept thinking about going back uphill.  So I enjoyed the old-growth forest and the hairy trees and went back.

Now, think of the most beautiful sunset you’ve ever seen.  Yep, that’s how my day ended!

One thought on “Central Oregon Coast – Waldport to Florence”

Leave a Reply

