Lodgepole Moosey

Moose are such incredible animals!  They are enormous and odd.  So we’re riding around the campground on Friday evening, checking bathrooms and talking to campers.  One of them says, ‘So do you see the moose everyday?’   We tell them the last time we saw a moose was about 2 or 3 weeks ago.  They said, ‘Oh, we just saw one in site 2.’   Well, shoot!   We missed him!  So, we kept going through the campground, thinking for sure he was long gone by now.  Then we stopped to talk to some other campers walking down the road.  They said, ‘Yeah, we were just watching the moose over there.’    That happened a couple more times that evening.  Hhhmmm – is that moose hiding from us?  Oh well, maybe I’ll get to see him on my morning walk.
Moose and Deer
Moose and Deer

That still, small voice told me to get the camera, but I wasn’t real hopeful so I just grabbed by phone.  With all these people around, I figured he was long gone!  I saw 2 deer as soon as I walked away from our site.  Then I saw another pretty wildflower that I just had to get a picture of.  Then I turned around and there was another camper walking up to me.  She said she’d just seen a moose around the corner here.  I got excited and walked faster, although cautiously, with her around the corner.  She was asking about the dangers of moose viewing and I tried to educate her a little.  And, there he was!!!  Of course, I was ill-equipped for photography and didn’t get a good picture.  But at least I got to see him!

Bull Moose
Bull Moose

We had a lot of running around to do, outside the campground, and when we came back, we got the same story about watching the moose ‘all afternoon’.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, that moose is a myth!

Lodgepole Site 33 Moose
Lodgepole Site 33 Moose

Okay, this morning I listened and took my camera.  I didn’t get very far from our site when I spotted the big bull.  If Site 33 has one redeeming quality it’s the wildlife viewing.  There are no trees close to the site and the parking area is very small.  These campers found a place for a huge tent.  They slept right through the moose eating in their back yard though.

Lodgepole Bull Moose
Lodgepole Bull Moose

I watched him for a good half hour this morning.  Our camera is still on Texas time so it was really around 7:30am.  He finally got annoyed enough that he walked away through the willows.  We went to church in Heber and had a lunch out on the picnic table today.  Lots of people use the dump on Sundays.  So our main job on Sunday is to be visible to keep people honest.  It’s no charge for campers in the American Land & Leisure campgrounds in the Strawberry area.  But we get a lot of campers, who stay in dispersed areas around Strawberry, that can dump for $7.  All was going well today until a gentleman flagged me down with a disgusted look on his face.  I asked what the problem was and he said, as soon as he and his wife got out of the truck, his dog jumped on the door lock button and locked them out.   (They’ll laugh about it next month.)  The Sheriff got them back in business before the 2 in line behind him turned and left.  I was thinking about charging him for the business we lost – hahaha – but it all worked out and, hopefully, his day didn’t get any worse.

The bull moose wandered back into view a couple more times this afternoon and evening.  Don rushed around the campground to tell everyone to come look.  They all came and the moose was playing hide-and-seek.  But Don found him again and everyone was thrilled.  What a fun day!

Wild Berries
Wild Berries

I wonder what these cute little berries are?  Anyone know?  Can we eat them?

Leave a Reply

