Brazos Bend State Park, Texas

Brazos Bend State Park CampsitesBrazos Bend State Park is a good stopping point as we make our way from Crockett, TX to the Aransas Pass Wildlife area near Rockport, TX.  Brazos Bend is just south-west of Houston, in Needville.  Alligator warning signs are everywhere! We got a couple great campsites together as we were travelling with my parents.  We asked for a site where we’d get a better satellite TV signal.  This loop doesn’t have as many trees.  We paid $20 for the site with electricity and water hookups.  But they also charged us a $5 entrance fee for EACH of us.  So, $30 total for our site.  My parents have a Texas State Parks pass (which would have cost us $60) that waived the entrance fees for them.

Brazos Bend Alligator
Scary, huh?
Well, we wanted to see some alligators, so Dad and I went for a walk around one of the lakes, while Don went fishing.  It was a cold day but the park attendant said the gators will be out in the sun.  There is a fishing pier and a great observation deck on opposites sides of the lake.  We saw lots of ducks, egrets and a sandhill crane.  I was trying to watch the edge of the water as we walked but then Dad started telling me a story.  I got distracted and neglected watching for alligators.  As I glanced to my side, I saw this guy staring back at me.  He was only about 4 or 5 feet from me when I saw him and I felt a tingle on the side of my calf where he could have bitten me if he’d wanted.  Dad was just rambling on, like someone with poor hearing does when they can’t tell when someone is trying to interrupt.  I jumped and gasped and still didn’t catch Dad’s attention.  Finally, I jumped in front of him, said, “DAD!” and pointed to the alligator just 10 feet from us at that point.  Then Dad jumped and gasped and held his chest.  I was laughing by then but it took him a little longer to laugh.  I think the gator had one eye open but he didn’t move a muscle as we took pix.  Well, I took pix.  Dad thought he was taking pix but didn’t end up with any – hahaha
Anyway, Brazos Bend State Park is a nice, well-cared-for park.  Texas is allowing fishing in their State Parks, now, without a fishing license.  They also have fishing gear for loan at most of the parks.
Leave a Reply

